As a reflection of the significance of the research activities undertaken by SNO and SNOLAB, the facility and it’s researchers have been recognized on a National and International scale on a number of occasions.

Some past awards include:

A 2021 Breakthrough New Horizons in Physics Prize
Breakthrough New Horizons are awarded to early-career scientists and mathematicians who have already made a substantial impact on their fields. One of the 2020 New Horizons in Physics prizes was awarded to a group of scientists for their work on the SENSEI experiment at SNOLAB, “for advances in the detection of sub-GeV dark matter especially in regards to the SENSEI experiment.” 

Read more form the Fermilab press room.

Dr. David Sinclair awarded Order of Canada
Dr. David Sinclair was appointed as Officer to the Order of Canada recognizing his work in addressing fundamental questions in elementary particle physics, astrophysics and the evolution of the universe. Dr. Sinclair was one of the founders of the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory, the experiment that helped solve the solar neutrino problem and the Facility Development Director for SNOLAB (2002-2007).

Read more at the Governor General of Canada website.

The 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics
The Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO) Collaboration, represented by Dr. Arthur McDonald have shared the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics. The Prize was presented by the Breakthrough Prize Foundation “for the fundamental discovery of neutrino oscillations, revealing a new frontier beyond, and possibly far beyond, the standard model of particle physics”. Five experiments investigating neutrino oscillation shared the prize. The teams include Daya Bay (China); KamLAND (Japan); K2K / T2K (Japan); Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (Canada); and Super-Kamiokande (Japan).

Read more at the Breakthrough Prize.

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics
Arthur B. McDonald was co-awarded the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics with Takaaki Kajita for the contributions of the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory Collaboration and Super-Kamiokande Collaboration for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass. The discovery changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and proves crucial to our view of the universe.

Read more from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Dr. McDonald receives Order of Ontario
Dr. Arthur McDonald of Kingston, a respected physicist who led the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory scientific team confirming that neutrinos have mass. This changed the basic understanding of physics for these fundamental particles, a very significant scientific discovery.

Read More at the Huffington Post

SNOLAB Scientist Receives the CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Outstanding Experimental Contributions to Subatomic Physics
SNOLAB would like to congratulate Dr. David Sinclair, Director of Facilities Development for SNOLAB on his receipt of the inaugural CAP-TRIUMF Vogt medal for his contributions to sub-atomic physics. “I do, of course, feel very honoured to be selected for this award, especially when I reflect on the strength of the field in Canada.

List of scientific awards:

Honours to Members of the Sudbury Neutrino Collaboration
(Since 1984)


George Ewan, Queen’s University (Original SNO co-spokesman)
Canadian Association of Physicists Gold Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics, 1987
D. Sc, honoris causa, University of Guelph, 2001
D. Sc, honoris causa, Laurentian University, 2002

David Sinclair, Carleton University (SNO Deputy Director until 2002, SNOLAB Director)
Davidson Dunton Research Lecturer, 2002
Carleton Research Achievement Award, 2002
Fellow, Royal Society of Canada, 2003
Sigma Xi Fund of Canada Award for Scientific Achievement, 2004
Inaugural CAP-Triumf Erich Vogt Medal, 2011

Art McDonald, Queen’s University (SNO Project Director)
LL.D., honoris causa, Dalhousie, 1997
Fellow of Royal Society of Canada, 1997
Killam Research Fellowship, 1998
LL.D., honoris causa, University College of Cape Breton, 1999
D. Sc., honoris causa, Royal Military College, 2001
Queen’s University Research Chair, 2002
T.W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics from the American Physical Society, 2003
Canadian Association of Physicists Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Physics, 2003
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Award of Excellence, 2003
Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering, 2003
Sigma Xi Fund of Canada Award for Scientific Achievement, 2004
Bruno Pontecorvo Prize in Particle Physics, JINR, Dubna, 2005
D. Sc., honoris causa, University of Chicago, 2006
NSERC John C. Polanyi Award to the SNO team, 2006
Officer of the Order of Canada, 2006
Co-recipient, Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics, 2007
LL.D., honoris causa, Saint Francis Xavier University, 2009
Fellow of the Royal Society of the UK and the Commonwealth, 2009
Member of Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame, 2009
Killam Prize in the Natural Sciences, 2010
Member of the Nova Scotia Discovery Centre Hall of Fame, 2010
D. Sc., honoris causa, University of Alberta, 2011
Henry Marshall Tory Medal, Royal Society of Canada, 2011
Order of Ontario, 2012
Co-recipient Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of neutrino oscillations and demonstrating that neutrinos have mass, 2015
Co-recipient Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, 2016

Alain Bellerive, Carleton University
Canada Research Chair, 2001

Tony Noble, Queen’s University (SNOLAB Institute Director)
Canada Research Chair, 2002

Scott Oser, University of British Columbia
Canada Research Chair, 2003

Mark Boulay, Queen’s
Canada Research Chair

Wolfgang Rau
Canada Research Chair

Walter Davidson, National Research Council of Canada
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, 2003

Aksel Hallin, University of Alberta
Canada Research Chair
Fellow, American Physical Society

Christine Kraus, Laurentian University
Canada Research Chair

Sudbury Neutrino Observatory
Ontario Association of Engineering Technicians and Technologists Award for Outstanding Technical Achievement in Engineering and Project Management
NSERC Inaugural J. C. Polanyi Prize
ORION Award of Excellence

United Kingdom

David Wark, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and Oxford University (Formerly UK SNO co-spokesman)
Rutherford Prize, 2004
Fellow, Royal Society of UK and Commonwealth


Hamish Robertson, University of Washington (US SNO co-spokesman)
T.W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics from the American Physical Society, 1997
Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2003

Andrew Hime, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Fellow, American Physical Society, 2004

Mark Boulay, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos National Laboratory Distinguished Post Doctoral Fellow Award, 2004

Karsten Heeger, University of Washington
American Physical Society Nuclear Physics Dissertation Award, 2003
Case Western Reserve University Michelson Postdoctoral Lectureship, 2004

Kevin Lesko, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Fellow, American Physical Society, 2000

Josh Klein, University of Texas
Sambamurti Prize Lectureship (Brookhaven National Lab), 2004
Outstanding Junior Investigator Award (US Department of Energy), 2004

Richard L. Hahn, Brookhaven National Laboratory
American Chemical Society National Award in Nuclear Chemistry, 2000
Brookhaven National Laboratory Research & Development Award, 1997