SNOLAB Scientist Receives the CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal for Outstanding Experimental Contributions to Subatomic Physics

April 14, 2011 — People Stories

SNOLAB would like to congratulate Dr. David Sinclair, Director of Facilities Development for SNOLAB on his receipt of the inaugural CAP-TRIUMF Vogt medal for his contributions to sub-atomic physics. “I do, of course, feel very honoured to be selected for this award, especially when I reflect on the strength of the field in Canada. I am very pleased that this new award carries Eric Vogtʼs name as I have always respected him as one of the great scientists and scholars in the field, whose work helped to establish the position Canada currently has.“ said Dr. Sinclair.

The medal was awarded by the Canadian Association of Physicists on the recommendation of a selection committee established by the Canadian Association of Physicists and TRIUMF. In addition to the medal, the recipient will receive a certificate citing the contributions being recognized by the award and a small monetary award. Dr. Sinclair has also been invited to give a talk at the CAP Congress where the medal will be presented.

“I was really delighted to hear that David Sinclair had been awarded the Vogt medal in sub-atomic physics. This is a great recognition of David’s vision and leadership in the development of the SNOLAB facilty for deep underground science.” said Dr. Nigel Smith, Director of SNOLAB. “SNOLAB is a world leading facility, with a rapidly developing science programme, which has placed Canada in the vanguard of this area of burgeoning science. Thanks to David’s stewardship, Canada has a great opportunity to lead the world in the search for rare physics and science processes, such as the search for the Galactic dark matter, and the measurement of neutrino masses. Congratulations to David, and the whole SNOLAB team, on this well deserved recognition. Well done!”

The CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal will be presented by the President of the Canadian Association of Physicists at the Annual Banquet held as part of its annual Congress.