SNOLAB researcher named Canadian Association of Physicists Fellow 

April 29, 2024 — Local Community

SNOLAB Research Scientist Dr. Christine Kraus has been named a Fellow in the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP). 

Kraus is among 19 Canadian physicists to earn this honour in 2024. The CAP Fellowship Program recognizes members of the CAP who have made significant contributions to the Canadian physics community.  

Kraus was recognized for her service to the Canadian Association of Physicists in various organization and administrative roles, often with a focus on equity, diversity, and inclusion; and for major research contributions to the SNO and SNO+ experiments, increasing the impact of Canadian physics research. 

Dr. Christine Kraus

Kraus was born and educated in Germany and did her postdoc work at Queen’s University working on the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory, before moving to Laurentian University where she earned a Canada Research Chair Tier II in particle astrophysics. She has been a research scientist at SNOLAB since 2021. 

“I am honoured to be recognized in this way,” Kraus said. “As a research scientist I get to do what I love: answering fundamental questions about how the world works and what holds the Universe together. To be recognized for doing what you love is very special.”  

Kraus’s main research focus is the SNO+ experiment, a multi-purpose neutrino detector. She is the deputy director and site activity coordinator for the collaboration, responsible for supervising visiting scientists and work on the experiment. 

“This is a significant honour, and Christine is very deserving,” said SNOLAB Research Director Dr. Jeter Hall. “At SNOLAB, in Sudbury, and now across Canada and internationally, Christine has distinguished herself as both a scientist and a science educator.” 

About CAP 

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) is the voice of Canadian physics, representing 1,700 physicists working in academia, government and industry. The CAP is dedicated to highlighting achievements in Canadian physics and pursuing scientific, educational, public policy, and communication initiatives that enhance the vitality of physics and physicists in Canada. 

CAP’s Fellowship Program was launched in 2022 when inaugural fellowships were awarded to Drs. Art McDonald and Donna Strickland. McDonald and Strickland are two of Canada’s most recent Nobel laureates – McDonald in 2015 for his work at the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory, and Strickland in 2018 her PhD work with laser pulses. 

Members awarded this distinction will use the designation of FCAP or FACP.