SNOLAB Board Appoints New ED

November 20, 2019 — Facility Updates

The SNOLAB Board of Directors is very pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Nigel Smith to a three-year extension as Executive Director, building on his previous and highly successful ten years at the helm of the organisation.  

Over the last year, with the assistance of an international Search Committee, the Board conducted a search for a new Executive Director. A successor has not yet been secured, and the Board is very pleased that Dr. Smith has agreed to stay on. His many accomplishments at SNOLAB have been widely recognized, and he has the unique leadership skill set for this important facility in deep underground science.    

The Board would like to thank the Search Committee for their extensive work throughout this process. The search will be revisited during the coming year.  McGill Professor Kenneth Ragan, Chair of the SNOLAB Board of Directors, comments that “the evolution of SNOLAB over the last 10 years from a single experiment to a location of choice internationally, hosting over a dozen experiments, means the role of Executive Director has become an important fixture on the world astroparticle physics landscape and requires a bold vision with specialized technical skills to ensure success; Dr. Smith has demonstrated that vision and those skills, and we are pleased that he has agreed to continue in the role of Executive Director.”  

Dr. Smith comments, “It is a great honour to be asked to continue to lead the SNOLAB team and facility over the next three years, which I am delighted to accept. SNOLAB has a fantastic team, dedicated to bringing the best scientific research in the world to Sudbury, helping it succeed, and illuminating some of the greatest challenges in contemporary science. With our research partners in Canada and around the world, SNOLAB has a bright future programme in deep underground science, and I am privileged to play a part in its continued successes.”  

For more information please contact:  
Samantha Kuula
Chief Business Officer