Members of the SNOLAB team named 2019 AAAS fellows

November 29, 2019 — People Stories

SNOLAB offers its warm congratulations to Dr. Arthur McDonald and Dr. Reiner Kruecken for earning the distinction of American Association of Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow. Both were named in the Physics category, for their contributions to science technology.    

Dr. Art McDonald is a particle astrophysicist, Professor Emeritus and Gordon and Patricia Gray Chair in Particle Astrophysics at Queen’s University. Dr. McDonald lead the Nobel Prize winning work on the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO) experiment, beginning in the 1980s. His work has earned him numerous awards, including the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics, Companion of the Order of Canada, and now the title of Fellow with the AAAS. Dr. Reiner Kruecken has been a member of the SNOLAB Experiment Advisory Committee and is the Deputy Director of Research at TRIUMF Lab at the University of British Columbia. He is recognized as an international leader in nuclear physics and is a part of many advisory, funding, and review committees.  

AAAS Fellows are recognized for “diverse accomplishments, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations and advancing public understanding of science,” according to the AAAS.

AAAS Fellows are nominated by previously elected members, the CEO, or the steering group for an AAAS section, a tradition that has been upheld since 1874. They are amongst 443 new Fellows in 2019, joining the ranks of distinguished scientists such as inventor Thomas Edison and Canadian Nobel Laureate, Dr. James Peebles. The 2019 Fellows will be recognized on February 15, 2020 at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle, Washington, USA.    

Congratulations, Art and Reiner!